Information about the chromium trioxide authorization

The recent decision by the European Commission with regard to chromium authorization has resulted in the following change:

 

Although the EU Parliament has approved the draft, the European Commission is still to revise it. We do not anticipate there will be any major changes to the content of the draft. However, the indicated timeline will be extended. It can also be assumed that the review period as a whole will remain unaffected (September 21, 2024).

 

The next decision is likely to be made during the next REACH Committee meeting in mid-June. Although, on the whole, we can only speculate as to the outcome of this decision, we will nonetheless keep you up to date on developments and document all the necessary steps for you. In the meantime, should you have any questions, you can still reach us on +49 (0)89 78596-0 or by sending an email to chrome@kwalter.de.

Following the decision made by the REACH Committee on February 15, 2019, we are delighted to inform you of the following:

 

The European Commission has agreed to authorize the use of Cr(VI) for functional hard chrome plating (application 2, incl. “gravure”) for seven years. The authorization period begins on the sunset date of September 21, 2017 and is thus valid till September 21, 2024.

 

The following action plan (excerpt) has been drawn up in light of this decision:

April 1, 2019
Authorization decision notified to applicants (date estimated)
July 1, 2019
Authorization holders to draw up and distribute (as annexes to safety data sheets) specific exposure scenarios for representative processes, operations and individual tasks
July 1, 2019
Downstream users to notify uses to ECHA under Art. 66 REACH
October 1, 2019
Downstream users to finish first exposure measurement campaigns
April 1, 2020
Downstream users to notify data from exposure measurements and air and waste water monitoring to ECHA
October 1, 2020
Authorization holders to validate exposure scenarios with new data from exposure measurements and air / wastewater monitoring which they will have received from Downstream users via ECHA

For the time being, the three kinds of data highlighted here are relevant for you as a downstream user. We will provide you with all documents and information in good time to ensure all deadlines can be met.

 

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to get in touch. To do so, please contact chrome@kwalter.de or  +49 89 785 96 0.

News and status on the REACH authorization of CrO3 by the EU

The authorization of CrO3 is immensely important for the gravure printing industry. With significant participation by the Heliograph company K.Walter as well as the ERA (European Rotogravure Association), leading European companies are driving this process in the EU. Here’s the current situation.

 

Together with the EU Member States, the EU Commission is still hard at work on the authorization of CrO3 for the gravure cylinder manufacturing industry (some other applications for special and individual applications have already been successfully adopted). The next decisions for gravure printing in the Functional Chrome Group are planned for June 2017. Whether something will actually be decided at this time is not certain. If not, the authorization decision could first be announced after the deadline for CrO3 use on September 21, 2017 (sunset date).

 

For all downstream users who are directly or indirectly supplied by the seven applicants and their distributors, such as K.Walter, nothing would change at first. They could continue usage until the final decision of the European Commission; further use of CrO3 by K.Walter customers is thus ensured.

 

If the authorization is definitively granted, downstream users, including K.Walter customers would have to report their use of chromium trioxide to the ECHA. This would have to happen within three months after a company received a delivery of CrO3 with the new safety data sheet, including authorization number. It would be obligatory for the company to comply with the conditions, which will be part of the authorization document.

 

To ensure that users in the gravure printing industry carry out the correct actions, K.Walter and the ERA will write a detailed manual describing all processes as well as all regulations that must be observed.

With the publication of the Official Journal of the European Union L108 chromium trioxide (as well as acids generated from it and their oligomers) beside other chromates is officially added to (the list in) Annex XIV of REACH Regulation (EC) No 1907/2006.

Thereby the deadlines of the authorization process have been fixed:

Latest application date: 21 March 2016
Sunset date: 21 September 2017

You may find the “COMMISSION REGULATION (EU) No 348/2013 (…) amending Annex XIV to Regulation (EC) No 1907/2006 of the European Parliament and of the Council on the Registration, Evaluation, Authorisation and Restriction of Chemicals (REACH)” under the following link:

https://eur-lex.europa.eu/LexUriServ/LexUriServ.do?uri=OJ:L:2013:108:0001:0005:EN:PDF

An extract of the above mentioned regulation can be found here (PDF).

On 27 June 2012 took place the first “TC” Technical Committee meeting of the CTAC Chromium Trioxide Authorization Consortium took place in Brussels. The meeting focussed on the formal formation of the TC: The chairman of the TC and his deputy were elected, as well as the speakers of each “use group”.
The selection of a technical consultant company is in progress.
A meeting with ECHA will be arranged in autumn.

The kick-off- meeting of the Chromium Trioxide REACH Authorization Consortium took place in Brussels on 22 May 2012. Since ECHA (European Chemical Agency) recommended to list chromium trioxide in the REACH Annex XIV as a substance of high concern, the consortium has been formed: the goal of the consortium is to work out the necessary documents for the authorization process in order to secure the future use of chromium trioxide for industrial purposes. Altogether about 150 companies (manufacturers, importers and users of chromium trioxide, among them the aircraft industry) are members of the consortium. K. Walter represents the gravure industry in the consortium and will be supported by ERA and its staff. The Technical Committee as well as the different user sub groups, which are in charge with the technical research and collection of the necessary data for the authorization document, will now take up their work at the forthcoming meeting on 27 June. The authorization document will be compiled right in time to be available for the gravure industry when the authorization has to be finalised with ECHA (36 months after the listing in REACH Annex XIV which will be approximately by May 2016).

The largest manufacturers, importers and usres of chromium trioxide have founded a European Consortium whose goal is to achieve authorization for further use of chromium trioxide. K.Walter joined this association on March 8, 2012. In close cooperation with the ERA, K.Walter intends to represent the interest of the gravure printing industry in the best way possible.

 

 

Against the backdrop of a recommendation by the European Chemical Agency (ECHA) from December 2011, this commitment seems urgently needed. The ECHA recommendation calls for authorization of chromium trioxide under REACH. In gravure printing, chromium trioxide is used to produce hard chromium layers for printing cylinders. If the EU accedes to this recommendation, then almost certainly from the beginning of 2013, chromium trioxide will almost certainly be included in the REACH Annex XIV for generally forbidden substances.

  1. With inclusion in Annex XIV, marketing and use of this substance will be banned in the EU 39 months later, that is, in mid-2016.
  2. The only circumstances under which this prohibition would not apply would be upon user-specific authorization, i.e. after submission of a request to ECHA, who would have to grant permission.
  3. If companies do not obtain this authorization, they may no longer use chromium trioxide, regardless of the economic consequences for these companies.
  4. Authorization must be issued to at least one member in the supply chain.
  5. At the moment, there is no available industrial process that can make a surface that can substitute for a chromium surface.

Our opinion is that the gravure printing industry will need the chromium process and the associated production steps for many years to come. This position was also presented on March 7, 2012 by Christoph Gschossmann, CEO of K.Walter,  at the joint meeting of the ERA technical commissions in Dusseldorf. He also requested a statement from the ERA and its members. ERA members agreed that K.Walter represent the gravure printing industry in the consortium, in which all necessary papers, measurements and dossiers for the request for authorization from ECHA will be developed. By vote, it was decided to support K. Walter in the procurement and preparation of the necessary data for the dossier and the preparation of the proposals for the future airborn limits.

Our view is that the chromium-plating process in gravure printing is much more advanced and safe than in comparable industries in regard to environmental and work safety. There is a high probability of obtaining authorization if we describe the specific uses in gravure printing with the existing plant technology and work them into the authorization dossier.

K.Walter will take an active part in the authorization process on behalf of the entire gravure printing industry. This is the only way we can be sure of getting the latest information at all times and optimally protecting the interests of the gravure printing industry.

We will keep you up-to-date on all pertinent information in the helioscope newsletter (www.heliograph-holding.com)and at www.kwalter.de.

If you have questions on this very complex issue, don’t hesitate to contact our team of experts at chrome@kwalter.de.

Informationen zur Chromtrioxid-Autorisierung

In Bezug auf die letzte Entscheidung der europäischen Kommission zur Chrom-Autorisierung hat sich folgende Änderung ergeben:

 

Obwohl das EU-Parlament dem Entwurf zugestimmt hat, wird die Europäische Kommission dennoch eine Überarbeitung vornehmen. Wir erwarten keine großen inhaltlichen  Änderungen des Entwurfs, jedoch wird sich die vorgegebene Zeitleiste nach hinten verschieben. Es ist ebenso davon auszugehen, dass der gesamte Autorisierungszeitraum („review  period“) unverändert bleibt (21.09.2024).

 

Die nächste Entscheidung wird voraussichtlich im Rahmen des nächsten REACh-Kommitee Meetings Mitte Juni fallen. Der Ausgang dieser Entscheidung ist zwar insgesamt nur abzuschätzen, wir halten Sie dennoch diesbezüglich auf aktuellem Stand und werden alle notwendigen Schritte für Sie dokumentieren. Bis dahin sind wir weiterhin für Rückfragen erreichbar unter +49/89 78596-0 oder unter chrome@kwalter.de.

Anlässlich der Entscheidung des REACh-Komitees vom 15.02.2019 freuen wir uns, Ihnen folgende Mitteilung zukommen zu lassen:

 

Die Europäische Kommission hat einer Autorisierung für die Verwendung von Cr(VI) im Bereich der funktionellen Hartverchromung (Anwendungsfall 2, u. A. „Tiefdruck“) für 7 Jahre zugestimmt. Dieser Autorisierungszeitraum beginnt mit dem sogenannten „Sunset-Date“ am 21.09.2017 und ist somit bis zum 21.09.2024 gültig.

 

Folgender Aktionsplan (Auszug) wurde im Rahmen dieser Entscheidung beschlossen:

01. April 2019
Mitteilung der Genehmigungsentscheidung an Antragsteller (voraussichtlicher Termin)
01. Juli 2019
Entwurf und Verteilung von spezifischen Expositionsszenarien (als Anhänge zu den Sicherheitsdatenblättern) für repräsentative Prozesse, Arbeitsabläufe und individuelle Tätigkeiten durch die Inhaber der Genehmigung
01. Juli 2019
Mitteilung der Verwendungen an die ECHA nach Art. 66 REACH durch die nachgeschalteten Anwender
01. Oktober 2019
Abschluss der ersten Messkampagnen zur Expositionsmessung durch die nachgeschalteten Anwender
01. April 2020
Mitteilung der Daten aus den Expositionsmessungen sowie der Luft- und Abwasserüberwachung an die ECHA durch die nachgeschalteten Anwender
01. Oktober 2020
Validierung der Expositionsszenarien durch die Inhaber der Genehmigung mit den neuen Daten aus den Expositionsmessungen sowie der Luft- und Abwasserüberwachung, welche diese über die ECHA von den nachgeschalteten Anwendern erhalten haben

Für Sie als nachgeschaltetem Anwender sind zunächst die drei hervorgehobenen Daten von Relevanz. Wir werden Sie rechtzeitig mit allen Dokumenten und Informationen versorgen, damit alle Fristen termingerecht eingehalten werden können.

Für Fragen stehen wir natürlich gerne zur Verfügung. Bitte wenden Sie sich diesbezüglich an chrome@kwalter.de oder  +49 89 785 96 0.

News und Status zur REACH Autorisierung von CrO3 durch die EU

Die Autorisierung von CrO3 ist zurzeit ein immens wichtiges Thema für die Tiefdruckindustrie. Unter maßgeblicher Mitarbeit von dem Heliograph-Unternehmen K.Walter und auch der ERA (European Rotogravure Association) treiben führende europäische Unternehmen diesen Prozess bei der EU voran. Hier der aktuelle Stand.

 

Zusammen mit den EU-Mitgliedstaaten beschäftigt sich die EU-Kommission nach wie vor intensiv mit der Autorisierung von CrO3 für den Bereich Tiefdruckzylinderherstellung (einige andere Anwendungen für spezielle und individuelle Nutzungen sind bereits erfolgreich verabschiedet). Die nächsten Entscheidungen für den Tiefdruck in der Gruppe Functional Chrome sind für Juni 2017 geplant. Ob bis dahin tatsächlich etwas beschlossen wird, ist allerdings nicht sicher. Wenn nicht, könnte die Autorisierungsentscheidung erst nach Ablauf der Frist zur CrO3-Verwendung (Sunset Date) am 21. September 2017 bekannt gegeben werden.

 

Für alle nachgeschalteten Anwender, die direkt oder indirekt von den sieben Antragstellern und ihren Distributoren wie z. B. K.Walter beliefert werden, würde sich aber zunächst einmal nichts ändern. Sie könnten die Nutzung bis zur endgültigen Entscheidung der EU-Kommission fortsetzen; die weitere Verwendung von CrO3 für K.Walter-Kunden ist damit sichergestellt.

 

Ist die Autorisierung final bewilligt, müssen nachgeschaltete Anwender wie auch K.Walter-Kunden ihre Nutzung von Chromtrioxid der ECHA melden. Das muss innerhalb von drei Monaten ab dem Zeitpunkt geschehen, an dem die Unternehmen eine CrO3-Lieferung mit neuem Sicherheitsdatenblatt inklusive Autorisierungsnummer erhalten. Dabei muss das Unternehmen unbedingt die Bedingungen einhalten, die Teil des Autorisierungsdokuments sein werden.

 

Um diesbezüglich Handlungssicherheit herzustellen, werden K.Walter und die ERA für alle Anwender im Tiefdruck eine detaillierte Anleitung, die die Vorgänge und einzuhaltenden Vorschriften genauestens beschreibt, erstellen.

Durch die Veröffentlichung vom 18.04.2013 im Amtsblatt L 108 der Europäischen Union  ist Chromtrioxid  (sowie Säuren, die sich daraus bilden und deren Oligomere) neben anderen Chromaten  offiziell in den Anhang  XIV der REACH-Verordnung  (EG) Nr. 1907/2006 aufgenommen worden.

Damit sind die Termine/ Fristen  zum Authorisierungsverfahren festgelegt:

Antragsschluss: 21. März 2016
Ablauftermin: 21. September 2017

Die „Verordnung (EU) Nr. 348/2013 der Kommission (…) zur Änderung von Anhang XIV der Verordnung (EG) Nr. 1907/2006 des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates zur Registrierung, Bewertung, Zulassung und Beschränkung chemischer Stoffe (REACH)“ finden Sie unter folgendem Link:

https://eur-lex.europa.eu/LexUriServ/LexUriServ.do?uri=OJ:L:2013:108:0001:0005:DE:PDF

Einen Auszug aus o.g. Verordnung finden Sie hier (PDF).

Am 27. Juni 2012 fand die erste Sitzung des Technischen Komitees (TC) des CTAC Chromtrioxid Authorization Consortium in Brüssel statt.  Im Mittelpunkt stand die formelle Konstituierung des Komitees: Der Vorsitzende des TC,  sein Stellvertreter sowie die Sprecher der jeweiligen „Anwendungs-Gruppe“ (Use Group) wurden gewählt. Das Auswahlverfahren zur Bestimmung eines technischen Beratungsunternehmens ist im Gange.
Das nächste Treffen mit ECHA ist für Herbst 2012 vorgesehen.

Am 22. Mai 2012 fand in Brüssel das Kick-off-Meeting des Konsortiums zur REACH-Autorisierung von Chromtrioxid statt. Ins Leben gerufen wurde dieses Konsortium nach der Empfehlung der Europäischen Chemikalienagentur (ECHA), Chromtrioxid im Anhang XIV der REACH-Verordnung als besonders besorgniserregenden Stoff einzustufen. Ziel des Konsortiums ist die Ausarbeitung der nötigen Dokumente für den Zulassungsprozess, um die künftige Verwendbarkeit von Chromtrioxid für industrielle Zwecke sicherzustellen. Dem Konsortium gehören insgesamt etwa 150 Unternehmen an, darunter Hersteller und Importeure, aber auch Anwender von Chromtrioxid wie etwa die Flugzeugindustrie. K.Walter vertritt in diesem Konsortium die Tiefdruckindustrie und wird dabei durch die ERA und ihre Mitarbeiter unterstützt. Das Technische Komitee und die verschiedenen Anwender-Untergruppen, deren Aufgabe die technische Forschung und die Zusammenstellung der nötigen Daten für das Autorisierungsdokument ist, werden anlässlich des bevorstehenden Meetings am 27. Juni mit ihrer Arbeit beginnen. Das Autorisierungs-Dokument wird so rechtzeitig fertiggestellt sein, dass es der Tiefdruckindustrie zur Verfügung steht, wenn die Autorisierung bei der ECHA abgeschlossen sein muss (binnen 36 Monaten nach der Aufnahme in Anhang XIV der REACH-Verordnung, also ca. bis Mai 2016).

Die größten Hersteller, Importeure und Anwender von Chromtrioxid haben ein europaweites Konsortium gegründet, mit dem Ziel, die Zulassung für den weiteren Einsatz von Chromtrioxid zu erlangen. K.Walter ist am 8. März 2012 dieser Vereinigung beigetreten und wird hier in enger Absprache mit der ERA die Belange der Tiefdruckindustrie bestmöglich einbringen.

 

 

Dieser Einsatz erscheint vor dem Hintergrund einer Empfehlung der europäischen Chemieagentur (ECHA) vom Dezember 2011 dringend geboten. Denn darin wird für Chromtrioxid eine Autorisierung unter REACH gefordert. Im Tiefdruck wird Chromtrioxid für die Erzeugung von Hartchromschichten für Druckzylinder verwendet. Folgt die EU der Empfehlung, wird Chromtrioxid mit größter Wahrscheinlichkeit Anfang 2013 in den REACH Annex XIV der generell verbotenen Stoffe aufgenommen.

  1. Mit der Aufnahme in Annex XIV ist 39 Monate später, also Mitte 2016, dann ein Vermarktungs- und Einsatzverbot in der EU verbunden.
  2. Dieses Verbot greift nur dann nicht, wenn eine anwenderspezifische Autorisierung und damit Zulassung bei der ECHA beantragt und positiv beschieden wird.
  3. Schaffen es die Betriebe nicht, die Zulassung zu erhalten, dürfen sie Chromtrioxid nicht mehr verwenden. Unabhängig von den ökonomischen Folgen für den Betrieb.
  4. Die Autorisierung muss mindestens an ein Mitglied in der Lieferkette erteilt werden.
  5. Im Augenblick gibt es keinen verfügbaren Industrieprozess, der zu Oberflächen führt, die die Chromoberflächen substituieren können.

Unserer Meinung nach benötigt der Tiefdruck den Chromprozess und die damit zusammenhängenden Produktionsschritte also noch für viele Jahre. Diese Position wurde am 7. März 2012 von Christoph Gschoßmann, Geschäftsführer von K.Walter,  beim gemeinsamen Treffen der technischen Kommissionen der ERA in Düsseldorf dargelegt. Er bat dabei um eine Stellungnahme durch die ERA und ihre Mitglieder. Diese sprachen sich dafür aus, dass K.Walter als eine Art Repräsentant für den Tiefdruck im Konsortium auftreten sollte, in dem alle notwendigen Papiere, Messungen und Dossiers für den Antrag auf Autorisierung bei der ECHA erstellt werden. Durch Abstimmung wurde beschlossen, K.Walter bei der Beschaffung und Erarbeitung der notwendigen Daten für die Dossiers und bei der Ausarbeitung der Vorschläge zu den zukünftigen Luftgrenzwerten zu unterstützen.

Unserer Ansicht nach ist der Verchromungsprozess im Tiefdruck in Bezug auf Umwelt und Arbeitssicherheit weitaus fortschrittlicher und sicherer als in anderen vergleichbaren Industrien. Es besteht eine hohe Wahrscheinlichkeit, die Autorisierung zu erlangen, wenn wir die spezifische Anwendung im Tiefdruck mit der vorhandenen Anlagentechnik im Autorisierungsdossier beschreiben und einarbeiten.

K.Walter wird im Sinne der gesamten Tiefdruckindustrie aktiv am Autorisierungsprozess teilnehmen. Nur so können wir sicherstellen, zu jedem Zeitpunkt die aktuellsten Informationen zu bekommen und die Belange des Tiefdrucks optimal abzudecken.

Wir werden Sie laufend im helioscope Newsletter (www.heliograph-holding.net) und auf www.kwalter.de informieren.

Falls Sie Fragen zu diesem sehr komplexen Thema haben, zögern Sie nicht, unser Expertenteam unter chrome@kwalter.de zu kontaktieren.